Scholastic Book Clubs

Closing the Teach For America Blogging Gap
Jan 04 2011

Top Reads for the New Year

Welcome back, teachers! We hope you had a wholly restful and rejuvenating vacation. Now it’s a new year, and you know what that means—new books! We wanted to share with you some of the books that we’re most excited about this January. Here are eleven great reads to curl up with in 2011!

Picture Books

1. Skippyjon Jones: Shape Up by Judy Schachner

If your students haven’t met Skippyjon Jones, here’s their chance! This crazy kitty (who thinks he’s a Chihuahua) “stays in shape” while learning about shapes in this entertaining (and educational) board book.

2. Penguins by Liz Pinchon

What happens if you leave penguins alone with a camera? This adorable, seasonal picture book will have your students giggling to no end!

Beginning Readers

3. Fancy Nancy: The 100th Day of School by Jane O’Connor

Celebrate 100 days (hey, that’s an achievement for all of you!) and build vocabulary with perennial favorite Fancy Nancy!

4. Hippo and Rabbit in Three Short Tales by Jeff Mack

Sure, a hippo and a rabbit can be best friends! These short stories with fun, cartoonish illustrations will appeal to fans of Mo Willems’ Elephant and Piggie.

Early Chapter Books

5. Jack Gets a Clue: The Case of the Beagle Burglar by Nancy Krulik

Kid detectives are the best detectives. And this one can talk to animals! The author of Fancy Nancy does it again with this great new series!

6. Kitty Corner: Callie by Ellen Miles

The sweet, new Kitty Corner books will appeal to pet lovers with a soft spot for lost kittens. Easy-to-read and truly adorable!

Middle Grades

7. Like the Willow Tree (Dear America: The Diary of Lydia Amelia Pierce) by Lois Lowry

The latest in this ever-popular historical fiction series, written by the author of The Giver. When Lydia’s family succumbs to the flu outbreak of 1918, she moves to a Shaker community—a beautiful book and a great curriculum tie-in.

8. Smells Like Dog by Suzanne Selfors

Homer is a treasure-hunter and mystery-solver, but his partner is a dog that can’t sniff out a trail! Your students will devour this hilarious page-turner.

Middle School/Teen

9. Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine

A stunning, moving novel about loss, told from the point of view of a girl with Asberger’s. Help your students get into the amazing mind of someone who everyone thinks is “different.”

10. Alex Rider: Crocodile Tears by Anthony Horowitz

Alex Rider, teen super-spy is back for another incredible adventure. Fans of action and thrills will love the latest installment in this best-selling series.

11. Bloody Times: The Funeral of Abraham Lincoln and the Manhunt for Jefferson Davis by James L. Swanson

We know you want some great non-fiction on this list! This is an example of fantastic history writing from the best-selling author of Chasing Lincoln’s Killer.

We hope you enjoy this list—we’re always happy to share more great book ideas!

Here’s wishing you a happy and healthy New Year from your friends at Scholastic Book Clubs.

No Responses Yet

    Post a comment

    About this Blog

    Ideas to build a lifelong love of reading


    Subscribe to this blog (feed)


    Archives

    Categories